Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Since I'm so boring lately...

I thought I would try out this "Getting To Know Me" little diddy. Here ya go - useless info about me - whoo-hoo!!

I got it from Kate over at All Things Feminine.
(And no, I don't know what happened to #7.)


Getting To Know Me

1. What is your occupation?
SAHHM & very-part-time Kid's Music Coordinator at our church.

2. What color are your socks?
Socks?? I don't wear socks.

3. What are you listening to?
Toddler Tunes - that my 3yo got from church today.

4. What was the last thing that you ate?
Pizza & cheese sticks from a local pizza joint. Easy, fairly cheap-o meal.

5. Can you drive a stick shift?
If I absolutely *had* to in an emergency. My college roommate tried to teach me and I almost put us in the Mississippi River. Seriously.

6. Last person you spoke to on the phone?
My OB's nurse
.
8. How old are you?
33

9. What is your favorite sport to watch on TV?
Probably gymnastics, but that happens like every 4 years at the Olympics. Otherwise I am forced to watch football with my dh. Good thing I love him!

10. What is your favorite drink?
Cranberry Splash Sierra Mist Free (LOVE IT!)

11. Have you ever dyed your hair?
Yup, when I get really bored with my hair - I just dye it a similar auburn color, looking for a bit more punch.

12. Favorite food?
Olive Garden's Alfredo Sauce - and their house salad. Mmmmmm....

13. What was the last movie you watched?
Other than listening to Dora's Christmas Episode in the car, probably Iron Man.

14. Favorite day of the year?
That perfectly cool day in the beginning of fall when I decorate our home for autumn & Thanksgiving.

15. How do you vent anger?
I can be passive-agressive with my dh (bad, I know). Otherwise, I vent TO my husband, talking through my feelings.

16. What was your favorite toy as a child?
I'm not sure....I have a terrible memory. I was a tom-boy, so I played outside a lot with the guys.

17. What is your favorite season?
Fall, then winter. I hate to be too hot.

18. Cherries or blueberries?
Neither one really - but either one is fine.

22. Living arrangements?
Dh & I, plus our 4 (going on 5) little ones in one side of the church's duplex (3 bedrooms, 1 1/4 bath) - decent yard although not fenced in, which I worry about. No pets - like I need to deal with more poop!

23. When was the last time you cried?
2 nights ago while reading a book.

24. What is on the floor of your closet?
Shoes, of course.

26. What did you do last night?
Finished crocheting a rather large baby blankie for a baby who is almost 2 weeks old (I'm so late!!) ~ while watching Heroes with my dh!

27. What are you most afraid of?
I'm doing better in the fear department, but my worst fear would be losing my dh or babies. I also HATE spiders - I'm a wimp.

28. Plain, cheese, or spicy hamburgers?
Cheesey

29. Favorite dog breed?
Great Dane

30. Favorite day of the week?
Fridays, dh's day off.

31. How many states/provinces have you lived in?
4

32. Diamonds or pearls?
Diamonds, although I'm not a big jewelry type of gal.

33. What is your favorite flower?
It's always been Calla-Lilies, although I really like simple daisies and sunflowers as well.


There ya go ~ all you ever wanted to know about me and so much more! Whew....I'd better get some better blogging material and soon!

4 comments:

Anneatheart said...

Hey Lori- where in Michigan do you live again? Are in the northern part of lower Michigan?

Just curious, because, ah, not to jump ahead, but we are praying about moving to Upper Michigan. If it were close enough i could meet you and your family :)

*Michigan Momma* said...

I would *love* to live in a more remote part of northern (lower) MI or even the UP, but we need a fairly large church. Only large churches hire Children's/Family Pastors and pay them enough to support our ever expanding family.

Sooooo....nope, we are kinda in the thumb. If you look at a map, we are across from Canada, on Lake Huron, right where the St. Clair River empties into it. Not as northern as I would like, but still wonderful!!
~Lori

Anonymous said...

My husband is also a youth pastor. But he also has a regular job. In doing this, we can find a church we love and not have to wonder about salary (if he would be even paid).

*Michigan Momma* said...

I have heard of this before, but I'm not sure how it would work in our situation. My dh doesn't work with YOUTH, it's the younger kids (birth-5th grade) and their families. Churches don't usually even hire Children's/Family pastors until they are much larger.

My dh already works so many hours at his church job - there is no way I would want him working even a part-time job - we would never see him!!

Now this is obviously because we attend such a large church, so he is required to work many hours per week just to get everything done. At a smaller church, there wouldn't be as many families, as many kids, as many programs and such, but then again, a smaller church probably wouldn't hire a Children's/Family Pastor - they usually can't afford to have that many pastors.

Yet I have heard of pastors who do get full-time, regular jobs beyond their church duties. They must be extremely busy! I'm not sure I would be able to handle raising so many little ones with my dh gone so much - it would very hard...you must be a very strong woman who obviously relies on the Lord fully! God Bless you sister~